News Flash Home
The original item was published from 8/17/2021 1:42:20 PM to 8/25/2021 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash

News Flash

Posted on: August 17, 2021

[ARCHIVED] Provide Your Input on Emeryville's Redistricting Process

California State Citizens Redistricting Commission

The California Citizens Redistricting Commission's is hosting a Communities of Interest Public Meeting to hear your input on Emeryville in the State's current redistricting process.  This meeting is primarily for Communities of Interest testimony and will include a general public comment session at the end of the meeting.

3:00 - 7:00 PM or upon conclusion of business

Meeting Agenda
Zone C - Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano


Registration is recommended but not required to participate in this public input meeting. If you prefer not to provide personal information for registration, you can call in the day of the event to get in the queue to speak.


While there are no clear rules on how to define a community of interest, they have identified ways for you to describe your community.

  1. Begin with your county or city.
  2. Mention the street names and significant locations in your neighborhood to help identify the parameters of your community.
  3. What are your shared interests?
  4. What brings you together?
  5. What is important to your community?
  6. Are there nearby areas you want to be in a district with?
  7. Nearby areas you don't want to be in a district with? Why or why not?
  8. Has your community come together to advocate for important services, better schools, roads, or health centers in your neighborhood?

To view a full list of upcoming business and COI input meetings, visit their website.

About the California Citizens Redistricting Commission

California voters authorized the creation of the Commission when they passed the VOTERS FIRST Act (Act) in 2008. It authorized the Commission to draw the new district lines. In 2010, the Congressional Voters FIRST Act added the responsibility of drawing Congressional districts to the Commission.

The 14-member Commission is made up of five Republicans, five Democrats, and 4 not affiliated with either of those two parties. The Commission must draw the district lines in conformity with strict, nonpartisan rules designed to create districts of relatively equal population that will provide fair representation for all Californians.

Every 10 years, after the federal government publishes updated census information, California must redraw the boundaries of its Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly and State Board of Equalization districts, so that the districts correctly reflect the state’s population.

For more information, visit their website at

Facebook Twitter Email