Commission on Aging

Most Recent
View All
Most Recent
View All
Most Recent
View All
Amended: June 20, 2017
Committee Type Community Advisory Standing Committee
Created September 1975; Reactivated February 4, 1992
Official Action Resolution No. 75-127; Resolution No. 92-25
Definition/Purpose Provides input and recommendations regarding City policies, priorities, and feedback related to the health and wellness of seniors in the community.
Committee Requirements and Composition Up to 9 Members:
An odd number of residents - no fewer than 5, no more than 9 - who shall reflect the diversity of the City as to neighborhood of residence and ethnicity.
Committee Facts Committee members shall receive no compensation. However, members may receive reimbursement for actual expenses incidental to carrying out the duties of the office, provided that they have first received specific City Council authorization for, and can verify, the expenditure and its purpose. City of Emeryville elected officials may not serve on this Committee. The City of Emeryville does not specifically prohibit concurrent service on more than one committee, provided, however, that the Government Code prohibition against incompatible offices shall apply. If a request were made to serve on more than one committee, a determination would be made as to whether that service would be allowable.
Term(s) 4 Years, Staggered (expiring June 30)
Regular Meeting Monthly
2nd Wednesday
10:00 AM
Senior Center (4321 Salem Street Emeryvile)
Vice Chairperson
Joyce Jacobson
Winnifred Arbeiter
Secretary Kim Burrowes
Program Coordinator
City Council Liaison Council Member Dianne Martinez
510- 596-4376
  1. Winnifred Arbeiter, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2019)
  2. Yvonne Behrens, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2020)
  3. Mary Farrell, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2019)
  4. Jerome Feldman, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2019)
  5. Baruch Golden, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2019)
  6. Joyce Jacobson, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2020)
  7. Louis Labat, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2019)
  8. Lillie Moseley, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2021)
  9. Judi Oser, Resident (Term ending June 30, 2021)
Contact the Committee
Other Staff Community Services Director